Portfolio Website: Homepage

To create my portfolio website I am using wix.com. On Wix, I chose to use a journalism portfolio template to help ensure I include everything I need. Although this is helpful, I think it’s quite challenging to make my portfolio unique so that it represents me.

When you first open up the template, it looks like this:

Screen Shot 2015-11-23 at 11.12.31.png

To make my portfolio unique, I first deleted the content on the page and changed the colour scheme. The colours that I chose for the whole website were different shades of grey and a bright green. I chose grey because I thought it looked professional, and I wanted to present myself as that type of person. However, I thought that by just having grey, it made my website look boring and so I decided to add some colour and make myself look more friendly. The colour I chose to add to the grey was a bright green, which I have used for the text on the website because I thought it looked the best with the shades of grey. I also thought that the green text was really good on the grey background because it’s easy to read, which is what all audiences want when they read.

The contents on my homepage are always going to be really simple and basic so that it’s easy to read and navigate to other pages. The main content I am going to have is an image of myself so that I am more recognizable and links to my recent work so people can view my work straight away. Everything on the homepage is going to be very visual, due to the links been images and the very small amount of text.

The homepage I created for my online portfolio looks like this:

Picture2

 

Leave a Reply

