Writing NIB’s

As I have started to write NIB’s (news in brief) for the ‘Your News’ segment in Hull Daily Mail, I have realised they are written very much like introductions of news stories. This is because they have to be as short as possible, have the 5 W’s (who, what, why, when, where), have the most important details first, not be biased, have the right tone and have the correct details.

When writing NIB’s I also learnt that you shouldn’t use commas. This rule applies because it stops you from writing long sentences. Personally, I found this hard when writing up my stories because I struggled writing short sentences.

However, after writing up all my stories for Hull Daily Mail, in a short amount of time, it has given me more confidence with writing NIB’s and I now feel like I know the basic structure.

Leave a Reply

